About Us

ICOM UK is the museum association dedicated to the international work of British museums


ICOM UK is made up of all the current ICOM members resident in the UK. An Executive Committee is elected every three years and is responsible for:

  • Ensuring the timely and efficient administration of ICOM UK’s affairs
  • Setting and defining strategic goals
  • Ensuring effective financial management and reporting
  • Championing the work of ICOM UK and ICOM
  • Liaison with the ICOM Secretariat

ICOM UK Executive Committee

Tonya Nelson – Chair (Director of Museums and Cultural Programmes, UCL)

Jim Broughton – Vice Chair ( Director of Strategy, Event Communications)

Duncan Dornan – Treasurer (Head of Museums and Collections at Glasgow Life)

Catherine McDermott – Secretary (Retired)

Nigel Sadler – Chair of Bursaries Committee (Independent Consultant, Sands of Time Consultancy)

Edmund Connolly – Social Media (Project Manager: Single Digital Presence, British Library)

Maria Ragan – Convenor Communications Working Party (Director, St Barbe Museum and Art Gallery))

Evelyne Godfrey – Committee member (Chair Uffington Heritage Watch Ltd and Independent Materials Archaeology Conservator)

Janice Lane – Committee member (Director of Gallery Development and Visitor Experience, Amgueddfa Cymru/ National Museum Wales)

Fiona Macalister – Blue Shield Representative and Committee member (Independent Preventative Conservator and Fellow of the International Institute of Conservation)

Jilly Burns – Committee member (Head of National and International Partnerships at National Museums of Scotland)

Helen Thomas – Committee member (Head of Museums and Cultural Heritage at the British Council)

Sinead McCartan – Committee member (Director of Northern Ireland Museums Council)