About Us

ICOM UK is the museum association dedicated to the international work of British museums

2 search results for "mediation"

ICOM/WIPO Cultural Mediation Service

ICOM UK welcomes the announcement of the new ICOM/WIPO Cultural Mediation Service, which can be accessed via the ICOM website.

The service is designed to help cultural institutions resolve disputes involving cultural property without recourse to expensive 3rd parties and legal advisers.  Importantly, cultural institutions can select mediators with existing expertise in disputes relating to art and cultural heritage from a WIPO-approved list.

The mediation process, which is voluntary and non-binding on all parties, is supported by considerable guidance and reference material, provided by ICOM. It can help with disputes concerning a wide range of issues such as restitution, repatriation and disputes over authenticity.

Find out more on the ICOM website at http://icom.museum/what-we-do/programmes/art-and-cultural-heritage-mediation.html

Call for Applications: 2018 European Museum Academy Awards

Museums may apply for the EMA Awards until 15 December 2017. The Micheletti Award and DASA Award recognise museum work, research and engagement in different areas.

The Luigi Micheletti Award focused on contemporary European history and its scientific, industrial and social heritage. It is open for: Museums or interpretation centres of 20th-century history (military, political or social), science, technology or industry, as well as science centres and ecomuseums.

The DASA Award concentrates on the quality of learning activities and opportunities. It includes the museological concept, quality of the storyline, the creativity of the exhibition design and the programme of educational activities. Specific attention is also given to personal mediation, the interactive participation of the public and an effective mix of education and entertainment. All kinds of museums may apply.

From 28-30 September 2017 the Luigi Micheletti Award and DASA Award for the year 2017 will be presented during the EMA Conference and Award Ceremony in Skopje, Republic of Macedonia.

EMA also collaborates with the Hands On! network for the Children in Museums Award which will be presented in October 2017.

Submissions for the 2018 EMA Awards can be made until 15 December 2017. The complete call and further requirements can be found here.

Visit http://www.europeanmuseumacademy.eu/ for updates!